comp advice

:: Public Chat :: OOC

Go down

comp advice

Post  Len on 31st July 2008, 17:01

anyone consider themselves an expert on computers..component wise? I want to get a new rig..want to use one of the configurators available at like ibuypower.com or cyberpowerpc.com but just get overwhelmed with motherboard choices and all that.

Want to get the most for my dollar? Anyone want to help me shop?
Len
Guild Member
Guild Member

View user profile

Back to top Go down

I am a expert

Post  Kinsar on 31st July 2008, 19:02

Yep, I am an expert..

Kinsar
Guild Member
Guild Member

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Didnt finish this before I hit send

Post  Kinsar on 31st July 2008, 19:26

I need to know what you have, how much money your willing to spend. Most of all, what do you want this for; is this a gaming pig, mobile pc, lan party, etc. I can point you in the right direction but I have to have a few details before I can get you there. Also, are you planning on building this system, or do you want a turn key system that you pull out of the box and fire up?

Kinsar
Guild Member
Guild Member

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: comp advice

Post  Len on 31st July 2008, 20:45

gaming. I just want to plug it in and have it run.

was playing with these various configurators..http://www.ibuypower.com/mall/lobby.htm quad core? dual core? athlon x2? SLI? crossfire?

looking to spend 1k if 1.2 gets me considerable more or if 800 gets about the same..the only thing i dont want is one of those crazy cases..prefer simple cases like the aluminum coolermaster.

think i want vista???
Len
Guild Member
Guild Member

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  Adrood on 1st August 2008, 06:53

I buy all refurbished Dells for our CAD work and am very happy with the PC to price ratio.

Example PC available today:
Vostro Minitower
Intel Core 2 Duo 3160 processor E8500
XP-Pro
500GB 7.2k HD
4GB ram (800mhz)
DVD and DVD RW
256mb ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT

Price: $709